Skip to content

Updates From the Classroom: Recent Testimonials from Organized Binder Educators (#teaching #classroom)

July 7, 2011

Hello readers,

I have been on vacation and Diane (editor) has been as well, hence the lack of posts.  I have received a number of emails asking when I was going to continue with the series on starting class.  That will resume shortly.  In the meantime I wanted to share with you some emails and comments I received recently regarding The Organized Binder.  The names of educators and schools have been removed.  I hope you enjoy reading these as much as I did and that they give you a clearer picture of the impact The Organized Binder is having around the country.  Look for more testimonials in the coming days:

 

Hi Mitch, still going for it!  Working on week 3 of full implementation of The Organized Binder!  It does require a little more time on my part but I think it’s just because it is a new technique that I have to get used to. So far I have all 120+ students doing it and the majority of them LOVE it! It only took a few days for the routine to set in. They know what is expected and are now very quick about doing it! I’m excited to see the quarter grades at the end of the year to see how much it helped. It also has been an amazing test prep tool (I’m using release questions for my kick-off’s) So far, so good! I can really “feel” it organizing my teaching and making my standards focus more clear to myself, students, parents and my staff! Thanks again for your awesomeness!

Mitch, I did start today with the Kick Off and had the students with their binders out ready to write. I am already seeing a difference at the start of class! Thanks for the pointers!

I wanted to let you know that we did an end of the year assessment of our professional development this past school year. All the teachers reported that The Organized Binder training and implementation were the most useful thing we did this year. Thank you!  

Hi Mitch. I just got all of my students on board with the program last Monday. Already, I’m impressed with the change in all of my classes. The structure the program provides is apparent to all and the students really like it. It also helped me with my own organization and accountability to my students.

Mitch, you have no idea how helpful and may I say what a “savior” you are for me. I am so happy I attended the Good Teaching Conference! I am beginning my 18th year of teaching Math and just had a really tough year. Way too many F’s and therefore I failed as well. I need and WILL fix it!   Tons of thanks for the ideas, the blog, it is such a eye opener and it is rejuvenating my philosophy and  energy to create successful, SMART Math Stars my school!

Hi Mr. Weathers! Not sure if you remember me but I was in your Biology class in 2003. You were, and still are, my favorite high school teacher. I will never forget my first organized binder. Every binder I have in college now is just as organized!

Hi Mitch, This is a direct quote from a student, “This is my first binder in years, at my old school they didn’t care if I was organized.

Learning Log Sentence of the Week: “I learned that two alleles segregate from each other so that each gamete carries only a single copy of each gene.” This is from an early intermediate language learner that rarely does (or so I thought) anything in class. He’ll pass the CAHSEE this year!

I tend to be a pretty organized teacher but your Organized Binder system puts me to shame. It is FANTASTIC! I love EVERYTHING about and particularly love the Weekly Lifeline. I can’t wait to try to use the weekly with CST release questions and watch those STAR scores rise.

Thank you, again, for sharing!  Please know that many students out here in Boise, Idaho have been cured of the “exploding binder syndrome” because of you!

 

Thanks for reading and sharing,

Mitch

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 2:07 pm

    Testimonials don’t do it justice. The OB changes how teachers and students feel about themselves as professionals and learners, respectively.

    • Annette permalink
      July 10, 2011 4:18 pm

      Jack, it seems that as I am reading these testimonies, high expectations from the get go and consistency to break the lazy, unmotivated student is the key to OB! And the end result SUCCESSFUL Students and STUDENTS feeling what success is felt like! Thanks for sharing! I am new to OB after seeing Mitch at a CTA conference and I can hardly wait for this coming school year. Wishing you another awesome year with OB success!

  2. July 7, 2011 5:33 pm

    Jack, thank you for the kind words. Coming from you that means a lot!!! Mitch.

  3. July 8, 2011 4:46 pm

    I got my binders, I have my colored paper, I have my templates, I just need my kids! I know it is only July, but I need to get started! I am so jazzed with OB……….Wooohoooo!!! Thanks again Mitch!!!! Will keep you posted!

  4. July 9, 2011 4:24 pm

    @annette, thanks for the comment. I am equally excited to hear of all the great things happening in your class this coming school year! Cheers, Mitch

Leave a comment